Bloodshot Dawn to release second album in October

Before closing their main stage show at Bloodstock Festival this past weekend, unsigned UK melodic extreme metallers Bloodshot Dawn frontman Josh McMorran confirmed that their new album, entitled ‘Demons’, would be released in the UK on October 26.

Bloodshot Dawn - Demons artwork‘Demons’ is the second Bloodshot Dawn album and was funded by fans in a Kickstarter campaign which was achieved in just four days, testament to the band’s loyal following.

‘Demons’ is also the first recording with their new drummer Janne Jaloma (also of Gothenburg death metal outfit Deals Death). The album features eight tracks spanning 43 minutes and includes guest musicians such as Sven De Caluwé (Aborted, System Divide), Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry), Teemu Mäntysaari (Wintersun), Andy James (ex-Sacred Mother Tongue) and Chris Amott (Armageddon, ex-Arch Enemy).

Speaking of ‘Demons’ in relation to their self-titled debut, which was released in 2012, Josh commented: “From a musical perspective it has been a completely natural progression. We have not become more melodic or more brutal but rather we’ve enhanced all aspects of the sound we had built up on the first album! This album is a huge step up in technical ability and song writing prowess without changing the music enough to alienate our current fans!”

“The title, ‘Demons’, which is also the name of one of the tracks, perfectly represents the lyrical content within the album. It also ties in with the amazing new artwork. The song’s lyrical content is about demons on both a personal and a wider social scale, explaining our views on modern society and the struggles within the mind. The album is all about beating your demons and making something of the time you have on the earth whilst battling the ever lasting struggles and trials that come with being human.”

The artwork (above right) was masterminded by Swedish artist Par Olofoson, who is famed for his work with bands such as Immolation, Onslaught, Exodus, Pathology, The Faceless and more as well, as also having also worked on the Bloodshot Dawn self-titled debut album.

Bloodshot Dawn tour posterThe band promote the release of ‘Demons’ with an extensive UK and Ireland tour in the autumn:

26 October – Limerick Dolan’s Warehouse
27 October – Belfast, Voodoo
28 October – Glasgow, Audio
29 October – Manchester, Sound Control
30 October – Bristol, The Exchange
31 October – Brighton, Green Door Store
1 November – London, Unicorn
2 November – Cardiff, Full Moon

About Mark Ashby

no longer planetmosh staff