Belgian metal troupe, BLIKSEM, announce album details

Belgian heavy metal bruisers, BLIKSEM, are gearing up for the release of their sophomore album, Gruesome Masterpiece, this summer.

BLIKSEM have already made waves in mainland Europe, totting up an impressive laundry list of achievements over the past four years – but now they’re turning their attention on the UK.  Having already toured our small island this year in support of Flotsam & Jetsam, BLIKSEM are now preparing to release their second album, and intend to include the UK in their world domination plans.

Gruesome Masterpiece has elements of thrash, doom, psychedelic weirdness and some good ol’ straight up heavy metal. Led by Peggy Meeussen’s distinctive vocal lines and soul searching lyrics, Gruesome Masterpiece tells a personal story, as Peggy explores the dark side of her own psyche, as well as that of society as a whole.

Over the years, BLIKSEM have held their own playing alongside everyone from Obituary to the Kaiser Chiefs, triumphing at niche festivals such as Roadburn and Speedfest, and winning over crowds at mainstream/alternative fests like Paaspop. Their resilient spirit, catchy aggression and accessible riffs has led to a broad and enthusiastic fanbase on home soil, as well as further afield in Europe. With rabid fans on their side, and the mainland press already wrapped around their collective little finger, the Belgian five-piece are going to keep going up and up.


  • 1. Crawling in the Dirt
  • 2. Kywas
  • 3. Room Without a View
  • 4. Mistress of the Damned
  • 5. The Hunt
  • 6. Morphine Dreams
  • 7. Twist the Knife
  • 8. Barbaric Nation
  • 9. Fucked up Avenue
  • 10. Out of the Darkness

Watch the video for Crawling In The Dirt  below.

Gruesome Masterpiece will be released on gatefold vinyl, digi-pack and digitally via Iron Will/Rough Trade on August 28 2015.

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.