The bad flowers – Starting gun

The Bad Flowers

Reviewed by:
On 31 December 2017
Last modified:31 December 2017


This is a great album - highly recommended.

The Bad Flowers have been making a name for themselves since releasing their debut EP in 2016 and putting in a string of great live shows since then. Now they’re gearing up for the release of their debut album – Starting gun.

Ahead of the album release they released their first single from the album – Thunder child, in late 2017. Check it out here..

From that song alone you can hear how the band have progressed since the release of their debut EP. It’s strong riffs and big chorus made it a great choice for a single, but that’s just one of many great songs on the album.

When listening to the album for the first time, the first thing that struck me was the vocals – Tom Leighton has a fantastic voice that really remind me of The Cult’s Ian Astbury on albums such as “Electric” – there’s a real similarity in the sound and both have strong powerful vocals. Given that “Electric” is one of my favourite rock albums, the fact that Tom’s voice reminds me so much of that is no bad thing.

After opening track, “Thunder child” you’ve got “Lions blood”, “Secrets” and “Rich man” – all great strong rock songs.

“I hope” is very different from the rest of the album. It’s a simple acoustic song with just Tom Leighton playing acoustic guitar and singing. It’s got a very personal feel, and serves as a nice pause in the heavier rock of the rest of the album.

“Let’s misbehave” starts off slowly but eventually builds to a strong chorus. It’s the weakest track here in my view – it’s just not got the pace or energy of the other songs, and it’s not got that same personal feeling as “I hope”.

“Hurricane” is probably the heaviest song on the album and is one where the Ian Astbury feel of the vocals shows strongly. A great song.

To coincide with the release of the album, The Bad Flowers are going to be touring with another great Midlands based band, Stone Broken and US blues rock guitarist Jared James Nichols.

This is a great album – highly recommended.

“Starting gun” will be released on 16th February 2018

Track listing:

1. Thunder child
2. Lions blood
3. Secrets
4. Rich man
5. I hope
6. Let’s misbehave
7. Who needs a soul
8. Be your man
9. Hurricane
10. I don’t believe it
11. City lights

This is a great album - highly recommended.

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.