Alternative 4 announces release information for ‘The Obscurants’


With “The Obscurants“, –Alternative 4 – the current main sphere of Duncan Patterson (ex Anathema, ex Antimatter) – release their second full-length album and continue the line of enquiry that began with their debut “The Brink” in 2011. Like its predecessor, “The Obscurants” stands out due to Patterson’s particular songwriting style, which is occasionally echoing the works of his previous bands, yet it is offering his most mature and sophisticated material to date. The album explores avenues such as soft 1960s tremolo vibes, analogue synths and vocoders, to cranked up distorted guitars, with new lead singer Simon Flatley’s crooner-like vocals perfectly completing the album’s musical expression. Lyrically “The Obscurants” turns out to be a thought-provoking concept album on the subject of cover ups. Be it the media, police, government, or personal deceptions, it’s about the obscuring of the truth and the subsequent fight for disclosure and justice.

Release date: 12.09.2014
North-American release date: 16.09.2014 (just distribution, not shop)

Available editions:
– CD Digipak
– Gatefold LP (180g vinyl) incl. poster and PVC protection sleeve (500 copies)
– 2CD hardcover book edition (18x18cm, 60 pages) incl. liner notes, studio report, background info, additional artwork and bonus CD feat. 10 additional tracks (500 copies)

1. Theme For The Obscurantist
2. Paracosm
3. Returning The Screw
5. Dina
6. Lifeline
7. The Tragedy Shield
8. Mr Black
9. Closure

1. Theme For The Opportunist
2. Chilling Effects
3. Reality Clash
4. Revisionists
5. Lincoyán Berríos
6. Dina (Ars Arcanum mix)
7. Lifeline (36 floors mix)
8. Lifeline (Nîm mix)
9. Lifeline (Spermblaster mix)
10. Lifeline (VÆV mix)


About Steve D

Dublin based editor, photographer and reviewer for PlanetMosh