Whitesnake-Made In Britain/The World Record

whitesnake_-_made_in_britainWhitesnake fans are the reason these cd’s exist, fiercely loyal who know what to expect at a whitesnake show and are never disappointed.
So when they requested another live album, David Coverdale decided to go one better, and record every show on the upcoming Forevermore World Tour back in 2011.
This world tour was massive. Performing 96 shows in over 35 countries, starting in North America in May, going right the way through until the final UK shows in December.

After spending the early part of 2012 feverishly editing and mixing the Whitesnake: Made In Japan DVD, the production team consisting of The Brutal Brothers, David Coverdale, Doug and Mikey Mac, had the task of listening back to over 90 shows and 130 hours of 100% raw, venomous Whitesnake performances to give the fans what they wanted.

So what do you get ?
This double live album. Disc 1, Made In Britain, includes the best takes of the shows in Britain in June 2011 and Disc 2, The World Record, contains the rare tracks from the shows in Europe and America from the Forevermore tour.
Ten tracks featured on here are also on the Made In Japan dvd/cd package released a few months ago, though as you could just buy the live dvd on Blu-ray, then this release does appear to make sense.
However I would suspect most diehard fans would have already bought the 2CD/1DVD version, so cd number 1 really offers nothing new. Though you do get ‘My Evil Ways’ ‘Fare Thee Well’ and an absolute scorching version of ‘Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City’ on this cd.
The sound quality is great, with a nice clear mix. David Coverdale’s voice still sounds great even after 35 years of singing the blues, the twin guitar attack of Reb Beach and Doug Aldrich shines through out, giving you a long lasting impression of a live Whitesnake gig.
The recent ‘Forevermore’ songs get the same thunderous applause as the classic’s. ‘Is This Love’, ‘Still Of The Night’ and’ Here I Go Again’, are all performed with youthful energy, enjoyed by the remarkably enthusiastic crowd’s from sunny Sao Paolo to a chilly Newcastle all helped along by David’s stage craft.

The 2nd cd, “The World Record” however, is an absolute joy to listen to, not only do we get to hear some classic Whitesnake tracks, which more importantly do not appear on the ‘Made in Japan’ album ( except one, if you buy the 2CD/1DVD version ) we also get to hear some classic Deep Purple tracks in the form off a ‘Soldier of fortune’ and a ‘Burn’/’Stormbringer’ medley.
Once again the production is crisp and clear, with “Bad Boys” really setting the standard for what is a great live cd. “Slide it in” shows David’s devilish side to song writing while “Can You Hear The Wind Blow” shows his more mature side.
The Deep Purple tracks have really stood the test of time, with the band making ‘Burn’ especially, sound fresh and modern.
All in all, this is a great release for fans of Whitesnake, and makes a great entry point for those people just discovering Whitesnake for the first time.

01. Best Years
02. Give Me All Your Love Tonight
03. Love Ain’t No Stranger
04. Is This Love
05. Steal Your Heart Away
06. Forevermore
07. Love Will Set You Free
08. My Evil Ways
09. Fare Thee Well
10. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
11. Fool For Your Loving
12. Here I Go Again
13. Still Of The Night
CD 2 –
01. Bad Boys
02. Slide It In
03. Lay Down Your Love
04. Pistols At Dawn
05. Snake Dance
06. Can You Hear The Wind Blow
07. Fare Thee Well
08. One Of These Days
09. The Badger
10. Deeper The Love
11. Soldier Of Fortune
12. Burn/Stormbringer

‘Made in Britain / The world record’ will be released on 8th July 2013 on Frontiers records.

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at planetmosh.com. Manager of The Goddanm Electric www.thegde.co.uk, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Hammerfest.co.uk. Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.