Voodoo Vegas – Hypnotise E.P

album by:
Voodoo Vegas

Reviewed by:
On 21 September 2015
Last modified:21 September 2015


Voodoo Vegas return with 4 brand new songs showing their darker side.

Artwork by Hypnottise by Voodo VegasBournemouth based 5 piece Voodoo Vegas seem to have darkened the vibe of their songwriting since the release of debut studio album The Rise Of Jimmy Silver on new 4 track E.P Hypnotise. Available via i Tunes on October 12th, it bristles with maturity especially on the howling vocals of Lawrence Case.

The title track kicks off with a stop/start ‘Still Of The Night’ like heavy riff backed up by a melodic snarled lead vocal. A tasty wah-wah guitar solo adds to the already impressive number. ‘Tied Up’ ups the tempo with some fist in the air hard rock riffs and thumping bass lines from Ash Moulton with some laid back fretboard histrionics to keep the air guitarists happy midway. The fluid intro riff of  ‘Round And Round’ increases in speed to back up some snapping riffs with a quirky mid song breakdown of talk box vocals, jazzy guitar solos and harmonica thrown into the melting pot. Final track ‘Killing Joke’ has a ‘Kashmir’ like intro which leads into the heaviest riffs on the E.P with an instantly memorable chorus to follow.

‘Hypnotise’ is a timely taster for Voodoo Vegas’ second album.

Voodoo Vegas band line up :-

Lawrence Case – Lead vocals/harmonica.

Merylina Hamilton – Guitar.

Jon Dawson – Guitar.

Ash Moulton – Bass Guitar.

Jonno Smyth – Drums.


Hypnotise E.P track listing :-


Tied Up.

Round And Round.

Killing Joke.


Voodoo Vegas return with 4 brand new songs showing their darker side.

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!