Triggerfinger – By Absence Of The Sun

album by:

Reviewed by:
On 18 January 2015
Last modified:18 January 2015


A excellent new album by Triggerfinger, featuring well crafted songs full of catchy hooks an riffs.

TriggerfingerSuited and booted quirky Belgian rockers Triggerfinger return with their newest offering ‘By Absence of the Sun‘ their follow up to 2010’s ‘All This Dancing Around’ recorded in LA by Greg Gordon (Slipknot, Slayer, White Zombie & System of a Down)

‘By Absence of the Sun’ opens with the ‘Game‘ which sounds as if you’ve just walked into a rehearsal for the band, before the main riff of the song kicks in and the slow stomper of a song grinds it’s way along with Ruben’s effects laden vocals cutting over the almost sludge like backing track. A great opening track showing that ‘Antwerp’s loudest band’ mean businesses.

Follow up track ‘Perfect Match‘ is sure to get the foot tapping with it’s infectious bass riff by Paul Van Bruystegem, and more foot tapping I’m sure will continue with the title track ‘By Absence of the Sun’ too. In fact this is something that Triggerfinger seem to do effortlessly with well crafted guitar or bass licks mixed with Mario Goossens sympathetic stylish drumming.

But Triggerfinger aren’t just about foot taping with stark almost bare tracks like ‘Halfway There‘ also present on the album to show that their not afraid to try something different and pull it off with aplomb. Listening to the album I have to keep reminding myself that this is just a three piece playing. Having had the pleasure of seeing the band perform live a couple of years ago I know they will be able reproduce this live on-stage and can’t wait till they grace the stage at Hellfest this year where I’ll be making a point of seeing them live again.

Overall I think that this is a fine addition to Triggerfinger’s arsenal of songs, with some well crafted tunes that I hope gather them many more fans.  By Absence Of The Sun will be released in the UK on the 4th March on Excelsior Recordings

Track Listing:

  1. Game
  2. Perfect Match
  3. By Absence Of The Sun
  4. Big Hole
  5. Off The Rack
  6. Black Panic
  7. There Isn’t Time
  8. And There She Was, Lying In Wait
  9. Splendor In The Grass
  10. Halfway There
  11. Trail Of Love
  12. Master Of All Fears

Triggerfinger are:

  • Ruben Block – lead vocals, guitar
  • Paul Van Bruystegem – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Mario Goossens – drums, backing vocals


A excellent new album by Triggerfinger, featuring well crafted songs full of catchy hooks an riffs.

About Neil Henderson

The other half of the Scottish duo :) Failing miserably at keeping Sheila in line ;)