STENCH premiere new song “Archways”

Swedish death metallers STENCH premiere a brand new track entitled “Archways”. It is the first song to be revealed from band’s upcoming full-length album “Venture”, set to be released on the 26th of September in Europe and 7th of October in North America via Agonia Records.


The new album “Venture” features seven brand new songs reminiscent of horror infected old-school death metal. Jonathan Hultén (guitars) comments: “Venture” is a journey from the rawest, most monotonous cellar-darkness up to a desolate mountain top, from which you are thrown into the abyss below in a castanedian manner. If only but for a moment or even throughout the whole 38 minutes, be prepared to enter the other world. For four years we have been boiling down our material to the bone in pursuit of the essence of this type of music. Our conclusion is that the simple and repetitive riffing is holding the key, and is enhanced by more or less subtle choirs and sound textures. Primitive, yet atmospheric”.

The album was recorded in Necromorbus Studio (Watain, Portrait) in Stockholm, Sweden. It will be available in a digipack CD, digitally and in a 12″ vinyl (black, limited picture disc and a special colour version).

Stench VentureTracklist:

  • 1. Archways
  • 2. The Vast
  • 3. Road
  • 4. Small Death
  • 5. Celebration
  • 6. Way
  • 7. Venture


  • Mikael Pettersson – vocals
  • Jonathan Hultén – guitars
  • Johannes Andersson – drums

STENCH‘s music is “fast, up tempo and with a bit of a crossover vibe” ( While Decibel Magazine pointed out band’s ability in crafting “haunting melodies”, One Metal wrote in a review that: “Stench bill themselves as blackened death, but they lean much more heavily towards the death side of things. There’s definitely a blackened influence, but if I may use a cooking metaphor, black metal is the herb garnish atop the smooth, creamy, progressive death risotto”.

The doors to band’s second full-length were opened by a self titled 7″EP, released earlier this year in a black and limited to 100 copies blue vinyl, and featuring three new songs.

STENCH is recommended for fans of Autopsy, Repugnant, Tribulation, Kaamos, Entombed, Master’s Hammer and Watain.

Follow the band at:

About Sheila

Former Editor, Team Co-ordinator as well as PR, news poster, pass requester, Ex-Scottish Team Leader for PM since 2011 \m/ \m/ Also owner of the infamous Garfield L'arpie, who is a official mascot of RACPA UK. Check out RACPA UK (Rock Against Child Pornography and Abuse UK)