Robin George-Dangerous Music II

album by:
Robin George

Reviewed by:
On 5 April 2015
Last modified:6 April 2015


This is the album that could have turned Robin into a household name, as there are several songs on here that could easily have been huge hits for him

Dangerous Music II is, as if you hadn’t guessed is the follow up to Robin’s impressive Dangerous Music debut, an album that spawned ‘that song’. I will try not to mention it’s title, as even though it is a great track, Robin has a lot more to offer, as is evident on this release, which due to Robin’s record company going bankrupt, hasn’t seen the light of day in nearly 30 years.

As you would hope for, the songs on this release follow the same pop/rock formula as defined the debut, however one thing is certain, with 17 tracks on this cd, the 2nd album should it have been released was going to be huge. If you break this cd down, there is a massive 2nd album here, although I personally wouldn’t want to choose the track listing, and then there are possibly 6+ songs already recorded that wouldnt fit on a LP or Cassette, so would form the basis of the 3rd album. As it is, all the tracks recorded for the 2nd album are here, and all of them are worthy of inclusion.

‘Dangerous Music’ , opens this cd up, full of Robins guitar playing swagger, far more rock than pop, this proves a serious challenge to Heartline’ ( there, I’ve mentioned it ). As lead track and I assume lead single from this album, there was even a video made to accompany this. That is a lot of faith put into a song that hadn’t even been released. That faith is well justified, as this release proves time and time again offering up a great blend of 80’s synth pop and Robin’s rock guitar playing. This release really shows you what one bit of bad luck within the music industry can do, Nik Kershaw became a household name, yet Robin never did, despite the fact that Robin was better looking, wrote better songs, and certainly played guitar better, plus he was taller :-).
‘Streetwise’ has a great guitar hook, a sing-a-long chorus and a blinding guitar solo, a great pop/rock crossover track that Robin does so well.
‘I Believed In You’ in an Acoustic led track, with some great harmonies.
‘Heart To Heart’ heads back into pop/rock territory, and could certainly have been a hit had it been released as a single. Classic Robin George.
‘The American Way’ is typical of the musical style of the late 80’s when syncopated drum beats mixed with a funk rhythm section created a sound-scape on which to play guitar off, Prince was a great ambassador of this type of song writing, and Robin isn’t far behind here.
‘Flying’ is a light pop track full of keyboard flurries and understated guitar runs by Robin, however just after half way through, we head into an amazing section with Robin playing some serious over driven heavy riffs backed by a glorious chorus section, then we close with an acoustic section. Amazing.
‘Don’t Come Crying’ picks up the pace, a great chorus line a great soaring joint guitar/keyboard solo towards the end help drive this song along. Worthy of a repeat listen straight away.
The pop duo of ‘Machine ’and ‘Computer Games’ do sound dated, but that is mainly due to the very electronic sounding synths. These would have been great on a 80’s Sci-Fi film soundtrack.
There is plenty of musical variety on here to enjoy, ‘Ace In My Hand’, Robin’s poignant tribute to former workmate Uriah Heep vocalist David Byron. ‘No More Mr Nice Guy’, ‘Chance Of A Lifetime’ with its brilliant guitar solo and ‘Red For Danger’, a song recorded by Robert Plant,’ being stand outs.
The last track on here is ‘Johnny’ an absolute massive rock ballad, one of the most powerful rock ballads I have heard in ages, an Acoustic intro, great chorus and a soaring guitar solo, everything American radio as was playing at the time. This would have been a hit single on both sides of the Atlantic.

Listening to this now, the fact that this album was never released seems like a crime, this is the album that could have turned Robin into a household name, as there are several songs on here that could easily have been huge hits for him. Has this been worth the wait, if you are a Robin George fan, than absolutely? Go out and buy it, you will not be disappointed.

This is the opening track of Robin George´s Dangerous Music II Produced by Gus Dudgeon (Bowie, Elton John), featuring Pino Palladino (The Who), Charlie Morgan (The Elton John Band). Recorded live in 85 at Camden Roundhouse, London.

01. Dangerous Music
02. Streetwise
03. I Believed In You
04. Heart To Heart
05. The American Way
06. Flying
07. Don’t Come Crying
08. Machine
09. Computer Games
10. Ace In My Hand
11. Stop
12. Tragedy
13. No More Mr Nice Guy
14. Chance Of A Lifetime
15. Mona Lisa Smile
16. Red For Danger
17. Johnny

This is the album that could have turned Robin into a household name, as there are several songs on here that could easily have been huge hits for him

About David Farrell

General Manager and 'THE' competition guy at Manager of The Goddanm Electric, Tour manager for Serpentine, and ex-general Dogsbody at Media partner to numerous bands. Also takes photos, writes reviews and likes classic rock, with a touch of thrash to get the blood flowing.