Neural FX – Abreaction

Mexican band Neural FX formed in 2007 and after undergoing various lineup changes settled on the current lineup in 2010.  In 2011 the band started recording their debut album – Abreaction, which has now been released in 2012.

Musically, Neural FX are a Prog metal band.

Brief comments on a few of the songs

“Abreaction” is more of an introduction than a full song, and features Anabel Olivo singing over the sound of dripping water – strange but good.

“Alpha” is the first full-blown song on the album and starts with loud heavy guitar work that really wakes the listener up after the far more gentle “Abreaction”.  The first two-thirds of the song are instrumental with the guitar beng the centre of attention before the pace slows and softens significantly as the vocals kick in.

The guitar work is very prominent in this album, taking the spotlight more than the vocals even.  It’s a good prog metal album with plenty of power and energy and lots of complex guitar parts, and plenty of prog elements.

A good album thats worth chceking out for fans of Progressive Metal.

Rating 6.5/10

Abreaction is out now.

Neural FX are:

Adolfo Torres – Vocals
Rene Montt – Guitar
Antonio Vazquez – Bass
Leon Tinoco – Drums

Track listing:

1. Abreaction
2. Alpha
3. Matter of time
4. Electric impulse
5. Insane
6. Crystal moon
7. Ancient edge
8. Mental mutiny
9. Eternal dream
10. Ambivalence

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.