Murder Construct – ‘Results’

Originally founded back in 2001 when guitarist Leon del Muerte left Impaled – and subsequently put on hold when he went on to join Exhumed – MC have been kicking around in one form or another ever since, first making their mark with their self-titled debut EP two years ago, which saw Cattle Decapitation frontman Travis Ryan doing the vocal honours.

Now, main projects permitting, the original deathgrind ‘supergroup’ – completed by former Watch Me Burn guitarist Kevin Fetus, ex-Bad Acid Trip bassist Caleb Schneider and drummer Danny Walker (whose multiple credits include Intronaut, Exhumed, Jesu and Uphill Battle) – seems to be more or less an entity in its own right.

Certainly, this full length debut establishes its credentials as such, being a nigh on perfect example of its collective members abilities to push the genre to its limits. Cramming 11 songs into just shy of 30 minutes, from the opening deathbeat decimation of ‘Red All Over’ through the unquestioning hardcore of ‘No Question, No Comment’ and the rampantly rabid ‘Compelled By Mediocrity’ to the ferociousness of ‘Feign Ignorance’, this is as good an example of the genre as you’re going to get at the moment.

Track list:

  1. Red All Over
  2. Under The Weight Of The Wood
  3. No Question, No Comment
  4. Gold Digger
  5. Compelled By Mediocrity
  6. The Next Life
  7. Dead Hope
  8. Feign Ignorance
  9. Mercy, Mercy
  10. Malicious Gilt
  11. Resultados

‘Results’ is released on September 10th on Relapse Records and can be pre-ordered here

About Mark Ashby

no longer planetmosh staff