Morbid Saint – Spectrum Of Death.


Well this is a real phoenix from the flames! Originally released in 1988, the debut and only full length album, Spectrum Of Death by Wisconsin, USA based thrash metal band Morbid Saint has been re-released on June 19th 2012  in vinyl format via Relapse Records. 1980’s thrash metal albums were noted for their dodgy album covers and Spectrum Of Death is no exception! At 33 minutes long its short, sharp and to the point as it is  visceral thrash metal at its finest, containing high speed buzzsaw riffing , thundering drums, demonic barked vocals and it’s a welcome change to hear the bass guitar quite high in the final mix. It brings to mind Jason Newsted’s performance on Flotsam And Jetsam’s debut album, Doomsday For The Deceiver.

If i did not know the band were from the USA, i would have thought they were German, judging by their delivery, bringing to mind early Kreator, Destruction, Sodom and Exumer, especially by the ” trebly ” production. From the scything riffs going straight to the jugular of opener Lock Up Your Children to ballistic closing number  Beyond The Gates Of Hell, Spectrum Of Death rages hard and fast with 2 numbers, Assassin and Scars, breaking the 7 minute mark.

Morbid Saint formed in 1982, were a covers band till 1987 but decided to write their own material from 1988, recording their Lock Up Your Children demo the same year. After releasing Spectrum Of Death they followed it with another demo, Destruction System in 1992.  They split up in 1994 and reformed in 2010. Original guitarist Jay Visser is still in the current line up.



Spectrum Of Death track listing :-

Lock Up Your Children.

Burned At The Stake.



Crying For Death.

Spectrum Of Death.


Beyond The Gates Of Hell.


Morbid Saint current band line up :-

Kevin Koski- Guitar.

Randy Wall- Drums.

Jay Visser- Guitar.

Bob Zabel- Bass.

Pat Lind- Vocals.


I award Spectrum Of Death a thrashtastic 10/10.

About Dennis Jarman

Full time downtrodden album/gig reviewer and part time rock God!