Madball to prove that ‘Hardcore Lives’

New York Hardcore veterans Madball have confirmed that the title of their forthcoming ninth studio album will be ‘Hardcore Lives’.

Madball - Hardcore Lives ArtworkThe album – tracked and engineered by Unearth guitarist Ken Susi and mixed and mastered by long-time collaborator Zeuss (Hatebreed, Agnostic Front, Soulfly, Terror, Whitechapel) – is set to be released on Nuclear Blast on June 30.

The album will also include guest appearances by  Scott Vogel of Terror, Toby Morse of H20 and Candace Puopolo (ex-Kucsulain, Walls Of Jericho) – as well as former WWE wrestling star CM Punk.

Madball frontman Freddy Cricien said of the choice of album title:

“I shouted ‘Hardcore Lives’ on Madball’s first release, ‘Ball Of Destruction’ – I was twelve then.  It wasn’t pre planned or written down… it was an ad-lib that I just threw out there and we kept it!  Back then there was no choice really, not the way we were recording – two track live at Don Fury’s… NYHC style!

“I feel the sentiment behind the expression still holds true today, maybe even more so.  Hence the reason we finally chose to use it as a title.  Sure, it’s about waving the flag for our genre/culture, etc. – I’ve always felt that ‘we as a scene’ had to scream just a lil louder… to be heard!  That said, ‘Hardcore Lives’ at least to us, is not just about a cool catchphrase- it’s about that rebellious spirit that doesn’t give in…

“In life, music, whatever. It’s about growing, evolving, and maintaining your integrity in the process. It’s about family, overcoming adversity, and respect. All the things that matter inside and outside of the music realm. It’s for everyone and anyone with an open mind and heart.”

Madball were founded in 1988 and included most of Agnostic Front’s members – their vocalist Roger Miret on bass, Vinnie Stigma on guitar, Will Shepler on drums, and vocalist Freddy Cricien, Roger Miret’s younger brother. Madball’s first few gigs consisted of un-used Agnostic Front songs and their first release was the “Ball of Destruction” EP in 1989.

Hardcore Lives will be available as limited edition digipak and on black vinyl, both including two additional bonus tracks: ‘The Beast’ which also appeared on 2012’s EP Rebellion and ‘Spit On Your Grave’ from 1994’s landmark release Set It Off – both tracks have been exclusively re-recorded for the inclusion on Hardcore Lives.


About Mark Ashby

no longer planetmosh staff