Lynyrd Skynyrd – Live in Atlantic city

Lynyrd Skynyrd

Reviewed by:
On 20 August 2018
Last modified:20 August 2018


A great live album from a legendary band plus their special guests.

Lynyrd Skynyrd have released a number of live albums over the years, but it’s been eight years since their last one. You might assume that this new album will focus on the newer material from the “God & guns” and “Last of a dyin’ breed” albums but you’d be wrong. Instead they’ve gone for a different approach – some Skynyrd classics plus some covers performed with special guests. The album was recorded at the Decades rock arena in Atlantic city and the band were joined on stage by Hank Williams Jr, Bo Bice and 3 doors down, and the majority of the tracks here feature one or more of those guests.

There are few bands touring today which started in the early 1960s, and even fewer have released songs that have become iconic songs known around the world (e.g. Freebird & Sweet Home Alabama). Even fewer have experienced the sort of tragedy that Lynyrd Skynyrd experienced in 1977 when a plane crash left severl band members and crew dead and others injured. A ten year hiatus followed before the band reunited and with several lineup changes over the years are still touring today.

It’s an interesting decision to do a live album with guests like this, and the choice of guests is fairly diverse. You’ve got the very successful rock band 3 doors down, who have topped the US album charts on more than one occasion; there’s Bo Bice, a former American idol contestant who was runer up behind Carrie Underwood, and there’s Hank Williams Jr – son of country legend Hank Williams and a successful country/rock artist in his own right. While Hank Williams and Bo Bice seem like compatible choices based on their musical styles, 3 doors down have a very different musical style being more alternative rock – closer to Grunge than the southern rock that Skynyrd are famous for. It’s testament to the legacy of Lynyrd Skynyrd that all these artists were willing to join them for the show.

It’s a great live album – the guests add some interest, so rather than being a straight Lynyrd Skynyrd live album, it’s been made just that bit more special (not that a Lynyrd Skynyrd album without guests isn’t a fantastic album normally). The setlist contains a great selection of songs and the sound quality is excellent.

A great live album from a legendary band plus their special guests.

“Live in Atlantic city” will be released on 21st September 2018 via earMUSIC.

Track listing:

1. Workin? for MCA
2. Red White and Blue (Love It or Leave)
3. Gimme Three Steps
4. The Real Thing (feat. Bo Bice)
5. Gimme Back My Bullets
6. Down South Jukin’ (feat. Hank Williams Jr.)
7. Born to Boogie (feat. Hank Williams Jr.)
8. That Smell (feat. 3 Doors Down)
9. Kryptonite (feat. 3 Doors Down)
10. Saturday Night Special (feat. 3 Doors Down)
11. Call Me the Breeze (with All Special Guests)
12. Sweet Home Alabama (with All Special Guests)
13. Free Bird

A great live album from a legendary band plus their special guests.

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.