The Devil Wears Prada – Transit Blues

album by:
The Devil Wears Prada

Reviewed by:
On 4 March 2017
Last modified:4 March 2017


The Devil Wears Prada defiantly brave all throughout 'Transit Blues'.

The band’s most emotionally fraught release to date, The Devil Wears Prada are sharing the serenity and trauma of their ‘Transit Blues’.

Six albums into their career, The Ohio set stand firm to share their incredible evolution at the hands of time and the ‘Transit Blues’, a byproduct of their 12 year history, marked significantly by ‘To the Key of Evergreen’, a relentless onslaught of punishing drums and their trademark tricksy guitars.

Opening on the cleverly orchestrated chaos and commanding drums of ‘Praise Poison’, it’s instantly apparent that The Devil Wears Prada have grown in leaps and bounds since ‘Born to Lose’. There’s a maturity beneath the Simone de Beauvoir-inspired calculated fury of ‘Daughter’ and the bubbling temper of ‘Lock & Load’, a wisdom imparted by well over a decade together. Even Mike Hranica’s chops have grown self-aware, the controlled execution of the sorrowful ‘The Condition’ being the most telling of the vocal lessons learned from years of spitting venom from the bottom of his lungs.

‘Transit Blues’ speaks of the toll of relentless touring, as the coherent and contagious ‘Worldwide’ and boundless despair of ‘Flyover States’ illustrate. Discovering a strange comfort in drowning under the waves, ‘Submersion’ speaks of the importance of accepting one’s circumstances without question. The transparent delivery of such significant messages through an almost pop-infused melody suggests a new accessible element to The Devil Wears Prada. A rare fictional gem emerges through ‘Home for Grave Pt. II’, a continued narrative from last album ‘8:18’ which destroys all doubt that this band are adventurous and successful leaders of their genre with one heartbreakingly delivered lyric – “she wished the trees weren’t so still, as if the pines could weep.”

Approaching emotive states rarely touched by metalcore before, ‘Transit Blues’ firmly places a scrawled note in your palm – “Move along now, you’re next.”

Recommended Tracks: Daughter, To the Key of Evergreen, Home for Grave Pt. II.

Track Listing:

  1. Praise Poison
  2. Daughter
  3. Worldwide
  4. Lock & Load
  5. Flyover States
  6. Detroit Tapes
  7. The Condition
  8. To the Key of Evergreen
  9. Submersion
  10. Home for Grave Pt. II
  11. Transit Blues





The Devil Wears Prada defiantly brave all throughout 'Transit Blues'.

About Ali Cooper

PlanetMosh's resident Alice Cooper nerd with big hair.