Damon Johnson & The Get Ready – New Album “Battle Lessons”

Damon Johnson and The Get Ready are pleased to announce his forthcoming new album, ‘Battle Lessons’, on the 19th February 2021.

The album sees Damon cementing his band line-up as Damon Johnson & The Get Ready and is the follow up to the 2019 album “Memoirs Of An Uprising”.

The band just released the video for title track “Battle Lessons”, which can be watched here:

Damon Johnson & The Get Ready – Battle Lessons

“Battle Lessons” is a stunning collection of nine original songs.

From the insanely infectious melodies of album opener and first single “Battle Lessons” to the groove riffing of “Shadow Country”. From the driving chorus of “Brace For Impact” to the beautiful acoustic “Love Is All You Left Behind”, this is an album infused with melody and emotion. Written and recorded throughout 2020, the album was produced and mixed by Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Rush, Mastodon), a connection Damon made whilst working with Nick on Black Star Riders.

The album see’s Johnson returns to his original hard-rock sound, feeding that fire he first discovered as a teenager playing Van Halen and AC/DC covers while in garage bands.  “These are as good of songs as I’ve been a part of creating, ever in my whole career,” Johnson says.

Damon Johnson & The Get Ready lineup is completed by drummer Jarred Pope (Tom Keifer) and bassist Robbie Harrington (Steve Vai.).

Damon has an illustrious career as a guitarist, vocalist and songwriter for Brother Cane, Alice Cooper, Black Star Riders and Thin Lizzy. Johnson’s songs have been recorded and sung by stars like Stevie Nicks and Steven Tyler.

In 2019 Johnson released Memoirs of an Uprising, a solo project that is both fierce and diverse. The first single, “Shivering Shivering”became an instant Top 10 Rock track. Immediately following that albums release Johnson spent the remainder of the 2019 on a series of dates crossing North America including several shows with The Winery Dogs (a supergroup of rockers featuring Richie Kotzen, Mike Portnoy and Billy Sheehan), a run of shows supporting Clutch, and the U.S. leg of the UFO tour.


“Battle Lessons” full track listing here

  1. Battle Lessons
  2. Can’t Clap Any Louder
  3. Talk Yourself Into Everything
  4. Shadow Country
  5. Let The Healing Begin
  6. Brace For Impact
  7. Lightning Bolt
  8. Love Is All You Left Behind
  9. Casual Beast

Damon last toured the UK and Europe in 2018 with ex band mate Ricky Warwick (Black Star Riders, Thin Lizzy, The Almighty). Damon Johnson & The Get Ready will tour the UK and Europe as soon as restrictions allow.

Follow Damon

DamonJohnson.com Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube– Spotify

About Alex English