Chosen – Resolution

Chosen - Resolution CoverIrish duo Chosen – guitarist/vocalist Paul Shields and drummer/percussionist David McCann – have been working together for around eight years now, releasing a few well-received EPs in that period and temporarily relocating to Vancouver before returning to their native sod to record and produce this debut full-lengther.

The result is an impressive and well-produced album which draws a line between two genres to which I am usually quite averse in complimenting – deathcore and DJent – and one which I feel has to be done particularly well in order to work, i.e the sort of mathcore/progressive soundof the likes of Meshuggah and Architects.

The duo blend the various styles together with efficiency and professionalism (even managing to throw in some quite symphonic swathes of ‘retro’ prog for good measure), creating innovative and interesting soundscapes which are by turns as bleak and as energising as their homeland.  The songs are thoughtful in their construction, with enough twists and turns to keep the listener intrigued as to what is coming next, the musicianship is of an extremely high standard, although I personally feel Shields could have put a bit more variation into his vocal delivery, and is complemented by an extremely high-end production.

Track list:

  1. Engines Of Belief
  2. Defective Prospection
  3. The Narcissism Epidemic
  4. Mental Clarity
  5. Diminishment
  6. Instinct
  7. Asch’s Paradigm
  8. Metaphysical Contradiction
  9. The Departure Lounge

‘Resolution’ is out now.  Check out Chosen’s official website,, or follow them on Facebook @

About Mark Ashby

no longer planetmosh staff