CARCASS | release video for track The Scythe’s Remorseless Swing

After a year of pandemic delays, British extreme metal legends Carcass have finally released their grotesque masterpiece – one of 2021’s most anticipated albums, Torn Arteries, out today via Nuclear Blast Records. Featuring 10 blood-soaked tracks like Kelly’s Meat EmporiumDance of Ixtab and Under The Scalpel Blade, the band’s 7th record is a fusion of “the best elements of virtually every era of the extremely varied Carcass back catalogue” (Decibel, Oct 2021).

Today, Carcass have also revealed a new music video for their latest gory single, The Scythe’s Remorseless Swing, which can be viewed here:

Feast upon the CARCASS

Purchase Torn Arteries 
Stream Torn Arteries
CARCASS – The Scythe’s Remorseless Swing (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)

More from Torn Arteries
Dance of Ixtab (Psychopomp & Circumstances March No. 1 in B) music video:
Kelly’s Meat Emporium visualizer:
Kelly’s Meat Emporium drum playthrough:
Under the Scalpel Blade audio track:
Torn Arteries Episode 1: Kelly’s Meat Emporium
Torn Arteries Episode 2: Artwork:
Torn Arteries Episode 3: Dance of Ixtab:
Torn Arteries Episode 4: Evolution of the Carcass Sound
Torn Arteries Episode 5: Songwriting

Torn Arteries tracklisting:
01. Torn Arteries
02. Dance of Ixtab (Psychopomp & Circumstances March No. 1)
03. Eleanor Rigor Mortis
04. Under The Scalpel Blade
05. The Devil Rides Out
06. Flesh Ripping Sonic Torment Limited
07. Kelly’s Meat Emporium
08. In God We Trust
09. Wake Up And Smell The Carcass / Caveat Emptor
10. The Scythe’s Remorseless Swing

Ferocious and uncompromising in their execution, CARCASS’s ability to intricately dissect the innards of death metal and display them for us to sonically understand has been their point of excellence for over three decades. In 2019 the band released their first single in over 5 years ‘Under The Scalpel Blade‘, followed by a 4-song EP in 2020 titled Despicablesetting a potent precedent for the full-length album coming in September. With the album title referencing an old demo created by original drummer Ken Owen back in the ’80s, Torn Arteriessits as a bookend on the modern side of the CARCASS discography, connecting directly back to where everything began over 30 years ago.  

The album artwork also rings reminiscent of the grotesque photography that appears on classic CARCASS album covers like Reek Of Putrefaction and Symphonies of Sickness. Artist Zbigniew Bielak travelled outside his normal wheelhouse to bring forth a time-lapsed set of photos showing vegetables shaped like a heart, rotting over time upon a white plate. This form of artwork was influenced by Japanese Kusôzu, meaning: ‘painting of the nine stages of a decaying corpse.’

Recording and production for Torn Arteries weren’t as simple as sitting down for a few weeks and knocking it all out but rather spread out over the course of approximately 1 year bouncing back and forth between the UK and Sweden. Initially, drummer Daniel Wilding did session work in Sweden at Studio Gröndahl with David Castillo while guitars were recorded at The Stationhouse with James Atkinson in Leeds, UK. Eventually needing some form of the residential location to finalise vocals, bass, and other guitar work, the band headed back to studio Gröndahl in Sweden to continue work in a very relaxed atmosphere with Castillo. “There was no real big plan to do it this way, the process just organically grew on its own,” says Walker.

Most will find that the only real struggle when indulging in Torn Arteries is fighting the desire to start it over the second it finishes. It covers substantial new ground for a band with such a reputation, while still retaining that addictive, time-honoured CARCASS sound that has come to represent the face of true death metal.

Bill Steer – Guitars
Jeff Walker – Bass/Vocals
Daniel Wilding – Drums
Tom Draper – Guitars

About Alex English