Buckcherry – Confessions

buckcherry - confessionsLos Angeles based rockers Buckcherry are back with their sixth album – Confessions.  Formed in 1997, the band split in 2002 before being reformed in 2005 with singer Josh Todd and guitarist Keith Nelson as the only original members alongside three new recruits.  They released their album “15” a year later which featured hits including “Crazy bitch” and remains one of their most popular albums – on the band’s last UK tour, songs from “15” made up almost half of the setlist.  After the release of “15”, two more albums and lots of touring followed before the recording of this latest album.

Looking at the song titles, it’s clear that the band took their inspiration from the seven deadly sins – Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Sloth, Wrath, Envy & Pride.  Seven of the songs are named after individual sins from the list.  One of these, Gluttony, is the first single to be taken from the album.

Brief comments on a couple of the tracks.

“Gluttony” is a great track and a good choice as the first single.  In my opinion though it’s not the best song on the album – either “Nothing left but tears” or “Greed” would probably have been my choice, but the whole album is great with quite a few songs that would stand up to release as singles.  The song is about doing things to excess – whether it be eating, drinking, smoking or something else.

Judging by the title, I’d expected “Nothing left but tears” to be a slow ballad, but it’s actually a typical Buckcherry rock song, and it’s an excellent track.

The album closes with “Dreaming of you”, a nice slower paced ballad

Rock fans are definitely being spoilt with some excellent albums coming out in the next few weeks with bands including Crashdiet, Helloween, Snakecharmer and now Buckcherry all releasing some really impressive albums – an excellent start to the year.

Buckcherry fans are going to love this album – it’s some of the band’s best work yet and is highly recommended.

Confessions will be released on 18th February 2013

Rating: 9.5/10

Track listing:

1. Gluttony
2. Wrath
3. Nothing left but tears
4. The truth
5. Greed
6. Water
7. Seven ways to die
8. Air
9. Sloth
10. Pride
11. Envy
12. Lust
13. Dreaming of you

About Ant May

I spend half my life at gigs or festivals and the other half writing the reviews and editing photos, and somehow find time for a full time job too. Who needs sleep - I've got coffee.