ALEXISONFIRE announce headline shows in UK and mainland Europe


Photo credit: Vanessa Heins @vanessaheins

ALEXISONFIRE  the Canadian post-hardcore icons are also excited to announce headline shows in the UK and mainland Europe this autumn. 

Renowned for their dynamic, captivating live performances, the dates include a stop-off at London’s O2 Academy Brixton and a Halloween show at the Palladium in Cologne. 

Tickets go on general sale from 10 am BST / 11 am CEST on Wednesday 1st June.

Joining them as special guests will be the British rock squad, BOSTON MANOR, with an additional band getting the party started each night yet to be announced.

“Something special happens when Alexisonfire gets together,” says AOF vocalist George Pettit. “When we’re all on stage playing in the pocket, we elevate and the audience comes with us. Can’t wait to play these shows!”

Don’t miss these dates:

Fri 14th Oct – UK – CARDIFF Great Hall
Sun 16th Oct – UK – MANCHESTER Academy
Mon 17th Oct – UK – GLASGOW Barrowland
Wed 19th Oct – UK – LEEDS O2 Academy
Thu 20th Oct – UK – BRIGHTON Dome
Sat 22nd Oct – UK – LONDON O2 Academy Brixton
Mon 24th Oct – BELGIUM – ANTWERP Trix
Wed 26th Oct – GERMANY – BERLIN Columbiahalle
Thu 27th Oct – GERMANY – MUNICH TonHalle
Sat 29th Oct – GERMANY – HAMBURG Zeltphilharmonie
Mon 31st Oct – GERMANY – COLOGNE Palladium
Tue 1st Nov – NETHERLANDS – UTRECT Tivoli

For a full list of global tour dates or to buy tickets, please visit the band’s official website at:
Most recently, ALEXISONFIRE unveiled “Sans Soleil“, the latest single from Otherness, their first full-length album in over 13 years, due out June 24th on Dine Alone Records. Fans can watch the band’s Dallas Green and Wade MacNeil discussing the track in more detail, alongside some in-studio clips, HERE

Otherness features 10 new songs including the explosive first single, “Sweet Dreams Of Otherness” and the previously released “Reverse The Curse”. The album is produced by AOF and mixed by punk stalwart Jonah Falco (Fucked Up, Chubby and the Gang). Watch the video for “Sweet Dreams Of Otherness” directed by the inimitable actor/director Jay Baruchel (LOL: Last One Laughing CanadaGoonThis Is The EndRandom Acts of Violence) HERE.

Act quickly to snap up the few remaining physical variants on pre-order HERE. Each vinyl variant is 2×12” with a gatefold jacket and printed inner sleeves. 
Otherness Tracklist
01. Committed To The Con 02. Sweet Dreams Of Otherness 03. Sans Soleil 04. Conditional Love 05. Blue Spade 06. Dark Night Of The Soul 07. Mistaken Information 08. Survivor’s Guilt 09. Reverse The Curse 10. World Stops Turning
A continuous thread through the fabric of Alexisonfire is the state of otherness. Otherness drew us all to spaces where a band like this could be formed. We attract the type of individuals that have all felt the sensation of being strange or unique. Perceived or otherwise, otherness has followed us through childhood, adolescence, and into our adult lives. It drives our tastes and proclivities. It bonds us with ourselves and others. And make no mistake, even at our most domestic and mundane moments, we are true outliers.

Otherness mission statement
Otherness is the band’s most cohesive and self-actualised record to date. For those who need a refresher, AOF released four hugely successful studio albums, all Music Canada Platinum-certified: Alexisonfire (2002), Watch Out (2004), Crisis (2006), and Old Crows / Young Cardinals (2009). Crisis debuted at #1 on the Top 200 Soundscan (Canada), and Old Crows / Young Cardinals debuted at #2, and charted at #9 on the US Billboard Independent Album chart. ​​

The number of albums made outside of Alexisonfire by different band members over the years – including City and Colour, Dead Tired, You+Me (with pop icon P!nk), Dooms Children, and Billy Talent – could fill several record store racks.

The mix of classic Alexisonfire and newfound textures of “Sweet Dreams Of Otherness” became a roadmap for the rest of the record. Dallas Green’s engaging croon; the urgent attitude of Wade MacNeil; the heavy bellow of George Pettit; all anchored by a mix of vulnerability, confidence, iconoclasm, and celebratory recklessness.
As every Alexisonfire song persistently expands and contracts, bassist Chris Steele and drummer Jordan Hastings remain impossibly tight, locked into unrelenting swinging grooves.

“As much as we love playing the old songs, we don’t want to be a nostalgia act. The only reason to come back is if we feel we still have something to say,” Pettit insists. “We spent so much time on the road thinking that if we stopped, people would lose interest. But when we went away, it only got bigger. We all carved new paths for ourselves, so coming back to Alexisonfire is a purely enjoyable creative venture. Something special happens when we get in a room together.” 

About Alex English