Alcest – Les Voyages de L’Ame



Translation ”The Journeys of The Soul “

Since their groundbreaking 2005 debut the e.p “Le Secret”, Alcest have created quite a stir amongst the black metal scene, creating their own unique brand of gothic themed doom laden sounds utilising the many talents of Neige.

Opening track “Autres Temps” sets the scene for the fantastic voyage into “the journeys of the soul “ in what has got to be the concept album of the year.

Musically the album is a truly stunning peace of work and quite simply is dark, gothic edged doom at its best, with a mix of haunting symphonic melodies, intriguing lyrics and its polished production. Neige has outdone himself with this wonderful work of art.

Faults with the album ? as with most doom/gothic concept style albums this is one of those releases that you will either absolutely love or really hate – there is no middle ground with it.

Highlight of this amazing album is the opening track “Autres Temps” which is simply stunning.

Rating: 9/10

Track listing:

1. Autre Temps
2. Là Où Naissent Les Couleurs Nouvelles
3. Les Voyages de L’âme
4. Nous Sommes L’emeraude
5. Beings of Light
6. Faiseurs de Mondes
7. Havens
8. Summer’s Glory


Neige : guitars/bass, synths and vocals.
Winterhalter : drums

Follow Alcest on Facebook: or check them out on the web at

About lee

Freelance Journalist/Photographer. Covers Liverpool/North West of England.